Social Icons

twitter YOUNG Blizzy Entertainment - YBEgoogle pluslinkedinrss feedemail

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Messi Beats Ronaldo To Win La Liga Best Player Award

Leo Messi collected two awards at the 2016/17 Football Awards Gala, in which Andrés Iniesta also received the MVP of the Spanish team.

The Blaugrana No.10 and captain have been the main award recipients at the 2016/17 MARCA Football Awards Gala held at the Convent of the Angels. Barça’s No.10 was handed his fourth Pichichi Trophy, which is given for the highest scorer of the last season, in this case for the Argentinian’s 37 goals in 34 games.

One more and he will match Puskas with five top scorer trophies. It was also a record that allowed Messi to receive his fourth Golden Shoe a few weeks ago.

The event was attended by the Barça delegation of President Josep Maria Bartomeu, Vice President George Mestre, Fourth Vice President Manel Arroyo, Board Member Javier Bordas and CEO Òscar Grau.

The gala, which was celebrated for the first time in Barcelona, also saw Messi win the Alfredo Di Stefano Award. Andrés Iniesta was designated as the MVP of the Spanish team.

Despite Cristiano Ronaldo guiding Real Madrid to their first title since 2012 in the recent campaign, FC Barcelona’s Lionel Messi beat him toMarca’s La Liga best player award.

The Argentine was awarded his prize by the publication on Monday night in the city of Barcelona, where he also won the Alfredo di Stefano Trophy.

Despite the Catalan club losing their La Liga crown to bitter rivals Los Blancos in the 2016/17 season, Messi was sublime throughout the campaign.

The 30-year-old scored 37 league goals and created a further 12 strikes in just 34 games for his club last season, while Ronaldo hit the back of the net on just 25 occasions and set up a further six goals.

Messi, who has carried his form into this season, is delighted with Marca’s recognition after winning the award.

“I already have several,” he said, according to the publication. “Before the trophy was different, bigger and heavier.

“I’m happy to receive it again and I want to thank MARCA for this recognition.”

Other award winners:

Jan Oblak – the Zamora award, Iago Aspas – the Zarra award, Mendilibar and Garitano – The Miguel Munoz Prize., Martinez Munuera – Guruceta award, Andres Iniesta – Spain’s MVP, Messi Named FFT Best Player In 2017

Atletico Nacional were awarded the Jarque / Puerta trophy for giving the title of the Copa Sudamericana to Chapecoense after the air tragedy.

Do you think Messi was deserving of the award? Let us know in the comments section below

No comments:

Post a Comment